As you may know, travel was recently suspended for most non-US citizens who have been to the UK, Ireland, the European Schengen Area, China or Iran during the 14 days before their scheduled arrival to the United States.

The Schengen Area includes:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

This does not apply to US citizens, legal permanent residents and their immediate family members. It also does not affect cargo shipments or travelers, regardless of nationality, traveling to Europe or Asia from the US.

What this means for US citizens and permanent residents

Notification of Arrival Restrictions has been issued requiring US citizens and permanent residents returning from Europe to enter through one of the following airports:

  • Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
  • Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California
  • Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

As the situation changes, so will travel advisories and restrictions. We will do our best to update our content as quickly as possible. You can always find the most up-to-date information on how the virus could impact your travel plans from the CDC, the US State Department and the World Health Organization.